Minnesota lake · state assessment record
Grace Marsh
Mahnomen County. The assessment record reported by Minnesota to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b).
- 8.85
- Assessed acres
- Lake, Freshwater
- Water type
This waterbody in one line
Grace Marsh, a lake in Minnesota, has no overall assessment verdict in the state's most recent Integrated Report. By assessed acreage it sits among the smaller assessed lakes nationally (38,628 lakes with a filed area).
- Not reported
- overall status
- P17
- Assessed size nationally
Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.
Reading Grace Marsh's filed record
Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.
The signature stat: assessed size
What stands out first is how small the assessed unit is: 8.9 acres, smaller than 83% of the 38,628 lake-type units carrying an area.
According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Minnesota carries 13,176 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Grace Marsh without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.
The record
Listed impairment causes
No causes are listed because this lake has no overall assessment verdict in the reported cycle. An unassessed waterbody is neither confirmed clean nor confirmed impaired.
Reading the record
What Grace Marsh's record holds
Scale and rank
Grace Marsh is one of 13,176 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Minnesota. It is not among the 1,939 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 8.85 assessed acres it ranks 32,029th by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 32,028 lakes with a larger one.
Which uses were judged
Minnesota filed no use-level rows for this lake and reached no overall verdict, so nothing here was judged either way.
What this record holds
Minnesota filed no overall verdict, no reporting cycle and no EPA category for this lake, so the record holds the identifying fields above and no judgement of any kind: no verdict, and no impairment cause to track over time. The state has not yet filed a definitive fish-consumption verdict, a definitive recreation verdict, a definitive aquatic-life verdict, and 1 other for this record; those fields populate when it reports them in a future Integrated Report cycle.
In context
Where Grace Marsh sits nationally
Assessed size among U.S. lakes
Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once
9 Top 83% larger than 17% of 38,628 lakes
lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value
Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026
In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Grace Marsh. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.
In context
Minnesota context
ATTAINS carries 13,176 lake-type waterbodies in Minnesota, 1,798 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 1,566 fully supporting.
| Other large assessed lakes in Minnesota | Assessed acres |
|---|---|
| Superior Not Supporting | 13,182,720 |
| Lake of the Woods Not Supporting | 301,348 |
| Red (Lower Red) Not reported | 164,699 |
| Lower Red Lake Fully Supporting | 164,689 |
| Mille Lacs Not Supporting | 128,076 |
| Red (Upper Red) Not Supporting | 119,279 |
Lakes near Grace Marsh's assessed acres
Similar assessed acres
Nearest filed extents (8.85 acres here).
- Beaver Lake · 8.85 acres · WI
- John Lake · 8.85 acres · WI
- Little McCall Lake · 8.85 acres · WI
- Cody-Estey Pond · 8.85 acres · MI
What to do with this record
- Assessment verdicts are cycle-based, not real-time. For fish-consumption decisions, your state advisory program is the binding source. Consumption status guide
- Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained
PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.
Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit MN44-0321-00. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.