Florida lake · state assessment record

Tenmile Pond

Assessment decisions reported by Florida to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b), last assessed in the 2024 reporting cycle.

109
Assessed acres
Lake, Freshwater
Water type
View watchlist

This waterbody in one line

Tenmile Pond, a lake in Florida, is assessed as not supporting one or more designated uses, with 3 listed impairment causes in the state's most recent Integrated Report cycle (2024). By assessed acreage it sits above the national median by assessed acreage (38,628 lakes); its impairment list is among the longest nationally (3 listed causes vs 23,610 assessed lakes). Aquatic life is assessed as not supporting.

Not Supporting
overall status
P72
Assessed size nationally
P5
Shorter cause list
Not Supporting
aquatic life

Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.

C-
Water Quality Standing
50/100
Tenmile Pond

A composite of this record's EPA ATTAINS designated-use verdicts, filed impairment count, and assessment currency, weighted and benchmarked against the national corpus of assessed active waterbodies. This is a water-quality standing, not a human-recreation or property-value judgment, and dimensions with no filed verdict drop out rather than count against the score.

RecreationA+
Meeting criteria
Swimming, boating, and other primary/secondary contact recreation
Drinking WaterN/A
Not assessed
Suitability as a public drinking-water source
Aquatic LifeF
Not supporting
Support for fish, invertebrates, and other aquatic organisms
Fish ConsumptionN/A
Not assessed
Safety of eating fish caught in this water
Impairment BurdenF
3 causes
Filed pollutant/stressor causes, vs. the national corpus of assessed active units
Assessment CurrencyA+
2024
Reporting cycle this record’s verdicts were last decided in

Where Tenmile Pond stands in the filed register

Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.

The signature stat: cause-list length

The standout filed fact is cause-list length: 3 listed impairment causes, a longer list than 90% of assessed lake-type units (n=23,610). List length tracks how states sample and code, not a severity score.

The uses disagree

This record splits: Not Supporting on aquatic life, Fully Supporting on recreation. The divergence is inside the designated-use matrix, not a single all-or-nothing label.

Tenmile Pond: Category 5, TMDL still owed

Category 5 is the Integrated Report band where a TMDL (or equivalent) is still expected for Tenmile Pond. Read the listed causes and any cleanup actions filed beside them before treating the overall status tile as a finished restoration story.

Overall status: not supporting

The filer's overall status for Tenmile Pond is Not Supporting. That tile summarizes the assessment unit; the designated-use rows and cause list are the evidence behind it.

Large assessed unit

At 109.2 acres, Tenmile Pond clears the upper tercile of assessed lake-type units with an area on file (11,040 still larger). Size comparisons use the portal's deduplicated lake ranking population, not raw ATTAINS row counts.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Florida carries 1,475 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Tenmile Pond without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.

Reporting cycle
2024
Florida Integrated Report
Listing category
Category 5
Uses with verdicts
2
Definitive use assessments
Sources retrieved
2026-08-17
Portal-wide ATTAINS + NWIS pull

The record

Designated-use assessments

Fully Supporting and Not Supporting are the state's definitive verdicts; other entries mean the use was not conclusively assessed in this cycle.

Designated use Group Verdict
Fish and Wildlife Propagation - Freshwater Aquatic-life or related Not Supporting
Recreation Recreation Fully Supporting

The record

Listed impairment causes

Causes the state listed as impairing designated uses of this lake, with the cycle each was first listed and the Clean Water Act action recorded against it.

Cause Affected uses First listed Cleanup standing
Dissolved Oxygen Fish and Wildlife Propagation - Freshwater 2018 TMDL priority: Low
Alkalinity Fish and Wildlife Propagation - Freshwater Not reported None reported
pH Fish and Wildlife Propagation - Freshwater Not reported None reported

Reading the record

Where Tenmile Pond sits among peers

23% of Florida's lakes assessed this deeply also came out mixed

Florida ruled definitively on 2 designated uses at Tenmile Pond and found 1 of 2 not supported. The dataset shows 691 Florida lakes judged to that same depth.

Florida's assessed lakes are most often judged on 2 uses, as this one was.

23 N

Computed share from EPA ATTAINS filed records, not an official EPA rating or safety grade.

Share of Florida lakes judged on 2 designated uses with the same outcome
Assessed lakes in Florida by how many uses were ruled on and how those rulings came out
Less More
Assessed lakes in Florida by how many uses were ruled on and how those rulings came out (lakes)
12345+
All supported 303251200
Mixed Not possible156 (this record)140170
None supported 682104500

Ringed cell: Tenmile Pond. Source: EPA ATTAINS, Reporting cycles 1987–2026.

Scale and rank

Tenmile Pond is one of 1,475 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Florida, and one of 973 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 109 assessed acres it ranks 11,041st by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 11,040 lakes with a larger one.

Open in the register

The state has not yet filed a definitive fish-consumption verdict for this record; that field populates when it reports it in a future Integrated Report cycle.

In context

Where Tenmile Pond sits nationally

Assessed size among U.S. lakes

Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once

109 Top 28% larger than 72% of 38,628 lakes

lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

Listed causes vs waterbodies carrying a verdict

How many impairment causes U.S. waterbodies with a reported verdict carry

3 Longer than most more listed causes than 90% of 23,610 waterbodies carrying a verdict

named waterbodies carrying a verdict, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Tenmile Pond. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.

In context

Florida context

ATTAINS carries 1,475 lake-type waterbodies in Florida, 636 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 367 fully supporting. Among the 973 indexed units there, Tenmile Pond ranks 161st by listed-cause count (3 listed causes) and 439th by assessed size among the 973 with an area filed; it sits in the not-supporting set (636 statewide) . Its listed causes (Dissolved Oxygen, Alkalinity, and pH) sit outside Florida's top-five list, which is led by Phosphorus, Total.

Other large assessed lakes in Florida Assessed acres
Lake Okeechobee Not Supporting 76,101
Lake George Not Supporting 43,576
Lake Apopka Not Supporting 30,909
Lake Kissimmee Not Supporting 30,671
Lake Istokpoga Not Supporting 26,673
Lake Tohopekaliga Fully Supporting 19,006

Peers near Tenmile Pond's size or cause load

Similar assessed acres

Nearest filed extents (109 acres here).

Similar cause load

Nearest listed-cause counts (3 here). Peers already in the acreage column are omitted.

How peers are picked

What to do with this record

  • Assessment verdicts are cycle-based, not real-time. For fish-consumption decisions, your state advisory program is the binding source. Consumption status guide
  • Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained

PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.

Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit FL3472. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.