Oregon reservoir · state assessment record

Bull Run Lake

The assessment record reported by Oregon to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b).

434
Assessed acres
Lake / Reservoir / Pond
Water type
3,165.2 ft
Water Surface Elevation (provisional)
View watchlist

This waterbody in one line

Bull Run Lake, a reservoir in Oregon, has no overall assessment verdict in the state's most recent Integrated Report. By assessed acreage it sits among the largest 10% by assessed acreage nationally (38,628 lakes). A USGS gauge tracks its water surface elevation daily.

Not reported
overall status
P90
Assessed size nationally

Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.

Where Bull Run Lake stands in the filed register

Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.

The signature stat: assessed size

The number that most separates Bull Run Lake nationally is assessed size: 434.1 acres, larger than 90% of the 38,628 lake-type units with an area on file.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Oregon carries 1,431 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Bull Run Lake without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.

Limited-coverage record. The reported record for this reservoir currently lacks a definitive fish-consumption verdict, a definitive recreation verdict, a definitive aquatic-life verdict, among other dimensions. It is shown for completeness; the richer records for Oregon are on the state page.
Reporting cycle
Not reported
Oregon Integrated Report
Listing category
Not categorized
No EPA Integrated Report category reported
Uses with verdicts
0
Definitive use assessments
Sources retrieved
2026-08-17
Portal-wide ATTAINS + NWIS pull

The record

Listed impairment causes

No causes are listed because this reservoir has no overall assessment verdict in the reported cycle. An unassessed waterbody is neither confirmed clean nor confirmed impaired.

Reading the record

What Bull Run Lake's record holds

Scale and rank

Bull Run Lake is one of 1,431 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Oregon. It is not among the 167 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 434 assessed acres it ranks 4,088th by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 4,087 lakes with a larger one.

Which uses were judged

Oregon filed no use-level rows for this reservoir and reached no overall verdict, so nothing here was judged either way.

Water level

A USGS gauge tracks this reservoir's water surface elevation daily, and the latest reading is 3.00 ft below the reading 30 days earlier, against a 365-day observed range of 15.1 ft. The state has not yet filed a definitive fish-consumption verdict, a definitive recreation verdict, a definitive aquatic-life verdict, and 1 other for this record; those fields populate when it reports them in a future Integrated Report cycle.

Water level: 365-day record

Daily water surface elevation values, feet above the National Geodetic Vertical Datum of 1929 (NGVD 29), from USGS gauge 14138560 (Bull Run Lake Near Brightwood, or), shown weekly. Readings are daily-batch snapshots, not real-time conditions. Each daily value is a single reading taken at 24:00, not a daily mean. It is the only daily statistic USGS files for this gauge.

15.1 ft annual swing
Latest reading
3,165.2 ft 3ft vs 30 days earlier
2026-08-15 · Provisional, subject to USGS revision
Latest reading
3,165.2 ft
2026-08-15 · Provisional, subject to USGS revision
365-day range
15.1 ft
3,160.2 to 3,175.3
30-day change
-3.00 ft
vs 30 days earlier
Observations
359
reading at 24:00 values, 365 days
3,1553,1603,1653,1703,1753,180 08-1610-0411-2201-1003-0604-2406-1207-3108-15 3,165

Source: USGS National Water Information System As of Trailing 365 days, through 2026-08-16

Water level: 365-day record

Subscribe to water level updates for Bull Run Lake (RSS)

Every daily value in this window is provisional and subject to USGS revision: USGS has not yet approved any value in the trailing 365 days of this record.

Full gauge record: USGS monitoring location 14138560

In context

Where Bull Run Lake sits nationally

Assessed size among U.S. lakes

Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once

434 Top 10% larger than 90% of 38,628 lakes

lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Bull Run Lake. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.

In context

Oregon context

ATTAINS carries 1,431 lake-type waterbodies in Oregon, 165 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 14 fully supporting.

Other large assessed lakes in Oregon Assessed acres
Goose Lake Not reported 93,152
Malheur Slough Not Supporting 73,544
Upper Klamath Lake Not Supporting 62,130
Columbia River Not Supporting 55,630
Lake Abert Not Assessed 44,751
Summer Lake Not reported 31,606

Lakes near Bull Run Lake's assessed acres

Similar assessed acres

Nearest filed extents (434 acres here).

How peers are picked

What to do with this record

  • Assessment verdicts are cycle-based, not real-time. For fish-consumption decisions, your state advisory program is the binding source. Consumption status guide
  • Water levels shown are daily snapshots. Seasonal drawdown and datum conventions matter when comparing levels. How to read level data
  • Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained

PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.

Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit OR_LK_1708000105_11_100634. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.