Oregon reservoir · state assessment record

Cottage Grove Lake

Assessment decisions reported by Oregon to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b), last assessed in the 2012 reporting cycle. Both cleanup plans below were established by EPA rather than by Oregon.

1,026
Assessed acres
Lake / Reservoir / Pond
Water type
776.8 ft
Water Surface Elevation (provisional)
View watchlist

This waterbody in one line

Cottage Grove Lake, a reservoir in Oregon, is assessed as not supporting one or more designated uses, with 2 listed impairment causes in the state's most recent Integrated Report cycle (2012). By assessed acreage it sits among the largest 10% by assessed acreage nationally (38,628 lakes); its impairment list is among the longest nationally (2 listed causes vs 23,610 assessed lakes). Aquatic life is assessed as not supporting. Oregon assesses fishing as not supported; it reported no verdict on fish consumption itself. A USGS gauge tracks its water surface elevation daily.

Not Supporting
overall status
P94
Assessed size nationally
P10
Shorter cause list
Not Supporting
aquatic life

Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.

F
Water Quality Standing
6/100
Cottage Grove Lake

A composite of this record's EPA ATTAINS designated-use verdicts, filed impairment count, and assessment currency, weighted and benchmarked against the national corpus of assessed active waterbodies. This is a water-quality standing, not a human-recreation or property-value judgment, and dimensions with no filed verdict drop out rather than count against the score.

RecreationN/A
Not assessed
Swimming, boating, and other primary/secondary contact recreation
Drinking WaterF
Not supporting
Suitability as a public drinking-water source
Aquatic LifeF
Not supporting
Support for fish, invertebrates, and other aquatic organisms
Fish ConsumptionF
Not supporting
Safety of eating fish caught in this water
Impairment BurdenF
2 causes
Filed pollutant/stressor causes, vs. the national corpus of assessed active units
Assessment CurrencyF
2012
Reporting cycle this record’s verdicts were last decided in

Reading Cottage Grove Lake's filed record

Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.

The signature stat: assessed size

The number that most separates Cottage Grove Lake nationally is assessed size: 1,026 acres, larger than 94% of the 38,628 lake-type units with an area on file.

Every ruled-on use is not supporting

On the uses this filer ruled on, fish consumption, aquatic life, every determination is Not Supporting. That is a use-by-use reading of the filed record, not a single overall lake grade.

Cottage Grove Lake: Category 4A reading

Category 4A means a TMDL (or equivalent) is already approved for the impairment on Cottage Grove Lake. The remaining work is implementation and tracking, read the cleanup-standing and cause rows for what the state already committed to address.

Longer than most cause lists

2 listed causes puts this unit above 80% of assessed lake-type records by list length. Treat that as a coding-and-sampling signal: states that split pollutants finely mint longer lists without proving worse water.

Overall status: not supporting

The filer's overall status for Cottage Grove Lake is Not Supporting. That tile summarizes the assessment unit; the designated-use rows and cause list are the evidence behind it.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Oregon carries 1,431 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Cottage Grove Lake without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.

EPA-established cleanup plans. EPA, not Oregon, established both cleanup plans on this record. ATTAINS records the agency responsible for each determination and records EPA's for these; it does not record why. The Clean Water Act provides for EPA to establish a load itself where a state does not submit one, or where EPA disapproves the one it submits.
Reporting cycle
2012
Oregon Integrated Report
Listing category
Category 4A
Uses with verdicts
4
Definitive use assessments
Sources retrieved
2026-08-17
Portal-wide ATTAINS + NWIS pull

The record

Designated-use assessments

Fully Supporting and Not Supporting are the state's definitive verdicts; other entries mean the use was not conclusively assessed in this cycle.

Designated use Group Verdict
Fish and Aquatic Life Aquatic-life or related Not Supporting
Fishing Fish-consumption or fishery Not Supporting
Private Domestic Water Supply Drinking-water supply designation Not Supporting
Public Domestic Water Supply Drinking-water supply designation Not Supporting
Aesthetic Quality Other Not Assessed
Boating Recreation Not Assessed
Hydropower Other Not Assessed
Industrial Water Supply Other Not Assessed
Irrigation Other Not Assessed
Livestock Watering Other Not Assessed
Water Contact Recreation Recreation Not Assessed
Wildlife and Hunting Other Not Assessed

The record

Listed impairment causes

Causes the state listed as impairing designated uses of this reservoir, with the cycle each was first listed and the Clean Water Act action recorded against it.

Cause Affected uses First listed Cleanup standing
Mercury Fish and Aquatic Life 2012 TMDL established by EPA
Methylmercury Fishing, Private Domestic Water Supply, Public Domestic Water Supply 2012 TMDL established by EPA

Reading the record

Cottage Grove Lake: Category 4A reading

4A Category 4A: impaired, TMDL completed

Oregon filed this assessment unit as Category 4A: impaired, with a pollutant-budget TMDL already completed under 303(d). The listing remains an impairment finding; the plan is on file rather than still awaiting write-up.

How listing and cleanup work.

Scale and rank

Cottage Grove Lake is one of 1,431 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Oregon, and one of 167 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 1,026 assessed acres it ranks 2,218th by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 2,217 lakes with a larger one.

Water level

A USGS gauge tracks this reservoir's water surface elevation daily, and the latest reading is 4.05 ft below the reading 30 days earlier, against a 365-day observed range of 38.1 ft. The state has not yet filed a definitive recreation verdict for this record; that field populates when it reports it in a future Integrated Report cycle.

Water level: 365-day record

Daily water surface elevation values, feet above the National Geodetic Vertical Datum of 1929 (NGVD 29), from USGS gauge 14153000 (Cottage Grove Lake Nr Cottage Grove, or), shown weekly. Readings are daily-batch snapshots, not real-time conditions. Each daily value is a single reading taken at 24:00, not a daily mean. It is the only daily statistic USGS files for this gauge.

38.1 ft annual swing
Latest reading
776.8 ft 4.050000000000068ft vs 30 days earlier
2026-08-15 · Provisional, subject to USGS revision
Latest reading
776.8 ft
2026-08-15 · Provisional, subject to USGS revision
365-day range
38.1 ft
748.7 to 786.9
30-day change
-4.05 ft
vs 30 days earlier
Observations
364
reading at 24:00 values, 365 days
740750760770780790 08-1610-0411-2201-1002-2804-1806-0607-2608-15 777

Source: USGS National Water Information System As of Trailing 365 days, through 2026-08-16

Water level: 365-day record

Subscribe to water level updates for Cottage Grove Lake (RSS)

53 of the 364 daily values in this window (15%) are provisional and subject to USGS revision; USGS has approved this gauge's record through 2026-06-22.

Full gauge record: USGS monitoring location 14153000

In context

Where Cottage Grove Lake sits nationally

Assessed size among U.S. lakes

Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once

1,026 Top 6% larger than 94% of 38,628 lakes

lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

Listed causes vs waterbodies carrying a verdict

How many impairment causes U.S. waterbodies with a reported verdict carry

2 Longer than most more listed causes than 80% of 23,610 waterbodies carrying a verdict

named waterbodies carrying a verdict, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Cottage Grove Lake. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.

In context

Oregon context

ATTAINS carries 1,431 lake-type waterbodies in Oregon, 165 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 14 fully supporting. Among the 167 indexed units there, Cottage Grove Lake ranks 70th by listed-cause count (2 listed causes) and 65th by assessed size among the 167 with an area filed; it sits in the not-supporting set (165 statewide) . Its listed causes include Methylmercury, which also appears among Oregon's most-filed impairment causes (led by Temperature). It also lists Mercury, outside that top-five list.

Other large assessed lakes in Oregon Assessed acres
Goose Lake Not reported 93,152
Malheur Slough Not Supporting 73,544
Upper Klamath Lake Not Supporting 62,130
Columbia River Not Supporting 55,630
Lake Abert Not Assessed 44,751
Summer Lake Not reported 31,606

Peers near Cottage Grove Lake's size or cause load

Similar assessed acres

Nearest filed extents (1,026 acres here).

Similar cause load

Nearest listed-cause counts (2 here). Peers already in the acreage column are omitted.

How peers are picked

What to do with this record

  • The listing here is on a fishery use, not on fish consumption, and this state reported no consumption verdict for this reservoir. Your state fish-advisory program is the source for whether the catch is safe to eat. Consumption status guide
  • Water levels shown are daily snapshots. Seasonal drawdown and datum conventions matter when comparing levels. How to read level data
  • Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained

PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.

Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit OR_LK_1709000203_02_100706. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.