Oregon reservoir · state assessment record

Krumbo Reservoir

Assessment decisions reported by Oregon to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b), last assessed in the 2010 reporting cycle.

219
Assessed acres
Lake / Reservoir / Pond
Water type
View watchlist

This waterbody in one line

Krumbo Reservoir, a reservoir in Oregon, is assessed as not supporting one or more designated uses, with one listed impairment cause in the state's most recent Integrated Report cycle (2010). By assessed acreage it sits in the upper quartile by assessed acreage nationally (38,628 lakes); its impairment list is among the longest nationally (one listed cause vs 23,610 assessed lakes). Aquatic life is assessed as not supporting.

Not Supporting
overall status
P83
Assessed size nationally
P20
Shorter cause list
Not Supporting
aquatic life

Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.

F
Water Quality Standing
27/100
Krumbo Reservoir

A composite of this record's EPA ATTAINS designated-use verdicts, filed impairment count, and assessment currency, weighted and benchmarked against the national corpus of assessed active waterbodies. This is a water-quality standing, not a human-recreation or property-value judgment, and dimensions with no filed verdict drop out rather than count against the score.

RecreationN/A
Not assessed
Swimming, boating, and other primary/secondary contact recreation
Drinking WaterN/A
Not assessed
Suitability as a public drinking-water source
Aquatic LifeF
Not supporting
Support for fish, invertebrates, and other aquatic organisms
Fish ConsumptionN/A
Not assessed
Safety of eating fish caught in this water
Impairment BurdenA+
1 cause
Filed pollutant/stressor causes, vs. the national corpus of assessed active units
Assessment CurrencyF
2010
Reporting cycle this record’s verdicts were last decided in

Krumbo Reservoir against the ATTAINS register

Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.

The signature stat: assessed size

The number that most separates Krumbo Reservoir nationally is assessed size: 219.1 acres, larger than 83% of the 38,628 lake-type units with an area on file.

Every filed use falls short

On the uses this filer ruled on, aquatic life, every determination is Not Supporting. That is a use-by-use reading of the filed record, not a single overall lake grade.

Krumbo Reservoir: Category 5, TMDL still owed

Category 5 is the Integrated Report band where a TMDL (or equivalent) is still expected for Krumbo Reservoir. Read the listed causes and any cleanup actions filed beside them before treating the overall status tile as a finished restoration story.

Overall status: not supporting

The filer's overall status for Krumbo Reservoir is Not Supporting. That tile summarizes the assessment unit; the designated-use rows and cause list are the evidence behind it.

Typical cause-list length

1 listed cause is a middle-tercile list length among assessed lake-type units. Look to IR category and use outcomes for the distinctive reading.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Oregon carries 1,431 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Krumbo Reservoir without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.

Reporting cycle
2010
Oregon Integrated Report
Listing category
Category 5
Uses with verdicts
1
Definitive use assessments
Sources retrieved
2026-08-17
Portal-wide ATTAINS + NWIS pull

The record

Designated-use assessments

Fully Supporting and Not Supporting are the state's definitive verdicts; other entries mean the use was not conclusively assessed in this cycle.

Designated use Group Verdict
Fish and Aquatic Life Aquatic-life or related Not Supporting
Aesthetic Quality Other Not Assessed
Boating Recreation Not Assessed
Fishing Fish-consumption or fishery Not Assessed
Irrigation Other Not Assessed
Livestock Watering Other Not Assessed
Water Contact Recreation Recreation Not Assessed
Wildlife and Hunting Other Not Assessed

The record

Listed impairment causes

Causes the state listed as impairing designated uses of this reservoir, with the cycle each was first listed and the Clean Water Act action recorded against it.

Cause Affected uses First listed Cleanup standing
Temperature Fish and Aquatic Life 2010 TMDL priority: Low

Reading the record

Where Krumbo Reservoir sits among peers

91% of Oregon's lakes assessed this deeply also had no use supported (the standard result at this depth, not a distinction)

Oregon ruled definitively on a single designated use at Krumbo Reservoir and found it not supported. The dataset shows 47 Oregon lakes judged to that same depth.

Oregon's assessed lakes are most often judged on 5 or more uses; this one was judged on 1.

91 N

Computed share from EPA ATTAINS filed records, not an official EPA rating or safety grade.

Share of Oregon lakes judged on a single designated use with the same outcome
Assessed lakes in Oregon by how many uses were ruled on and how those rulings came out
Less More
Assessed lakes in Oregon by how many uses were ruled on and how those rulings came out (lakes)
12345+
All supported 42620
Mixed Not possible43037
None supported 43 (this record)18101931

Ringed cell: Krumbo Reservoir. Source: EPA ATTAINS, Reporting cycles 1987–2026.

Scale and rank

Krumbo Reservoir is one of 1,431 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Oregon, and one of 167 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 219 assessed acres it ranks 6,722nd by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 6,721 lakes with a larger one.

Still unfiled

The state has not yet filed a definitive fish-consumption verdict and a definitive recreation verdict for this record; those fields populate when it reports them in a future Integrated Report cycle.

In context

Where Krumbo Reservoir sits nationally

Assessed size among U.S. lakes

Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once

219 Top 17% larger than 83% of 38,628 lakes

lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

Listed causes vs waterbodies carrying a verdict

How many impairment causes U.S. waterbodies with a reported verdict carry

1 Longer than most more listed causes than 49% of 23,610 waterbodies carrying a verdict

named waterbodies carrying a verdict, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Krumbo Reservoir. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.

In context

Oregon context

ATTAINS carries 1,431 lake-type waterbodies in Oregon, 165 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 14 fully supporting. Among the 167 indexed units there, Krumbo Reservoir ranks 125th by listed-cause count (one listed cause) and 103rd by assessed size among the 167 with an area filed; it sits in the not-supporting set (165 statewide) . Its listed causes include Temperature, which also appears among Oregon's most-filed impairment causes (led by Temperature).

Other large assessed lakes in Oregon Assessed acres
Goose Lake Not reported 93,152
Malheur Slough Not Supporting 73,544
Upper Klamath Lake Not Supporting 62,130
Columbia River Not Supporting 55,630
Lake Abert Not Assessed 44,751
Summer Lake Not reported 31,606

Peers near Krumbo Reservoir's size or cause load

Similar assessed acres

Nearest filed extents (219 acres here).

Similar cause load

Nearest listed-cause counts (1 here). Peers already in the acreage column are omitted.

How peers are picked

What to do with this record

  • Assessment verdicts are cycle-based, not real-time. For fish-consumption decisions, your state advisory program is the binding source. Consumption status guide
  • Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained

PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.

Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit OR_LK_1712000302_09_100939. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.