Maryland impoundment · state assessment record

Mitchell Pond

The assessment record reported by Maryland to EPA under Clean Water Act sections 303(d) and 305(b).

8.11
Assessed acres
Impoundment
Water type
View watchlist

This waterbody in one line

Mitchell Pond, an impoundment in Maryland, has no overall assessment verdict in the state's most recent Integrated Report. By assessed acreage it sits among the smaller assessed lakes nationally (38,628 lakes with a filed area).

Not reported
overall status
P16
Assessed size nationally

Assessment verdicts are the state agency's decisions as reported to EPA ATTAINS; PlainLakes renders them without modification.

How Mitchell Pond reads against the filed register

Paragraphs are selected by this unit's percentiles and use matrix: different lakes lead with different dimensions. Figures are ATTAINS / portal register arithmetic, not advice.

The signature stat: assessed size

What stands out first is how small the assessed unit is: 8.1 acres, smaller than 84% of the 38,628 lake-type units carrying an area.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ATTAINS program, Maryland carries 63 filed lake-type waterbodies in the August 2026 extract, and this page renders the assessment record EPA assigned to Mitchell Pond without modification. See our methodology for reporting-unit limits and gauge linking rules.

Limited-coverage record. The reported record for this impoundment currently lacks a definitive fish-consumption verdict, a definitive recreation verdict, a definitive aquatic-life verdict, among other dimensions. It is shown for completeness; the richer records for Maryland are on the state page.
Reporting cycle
Not reported
Maryland Integrated Report
Listing category
Not categorized
No EPA Integrated Report category reported
Uses with verdicts
0
Definitive use assessments
Sources retrieved
2026-08-17
Portal-wide ATTAINS + NWIS pull

The record

Listed impairment causes

No causes are listed because this impoundment has no overall assessment verdict in the reported cycle. An unassessed waterbody is neither confirmed clean nor confirmed impaired.

Reading the record

What Mitchell Pond's record holds

Scale and rank

Mitchell Pond is one of 63 lake-type waterbodies reported to EPA from Maryland. It is not among the 37 whose reported record carries enough populated assessment or gauge data for this site to list and index it. At 8.11 assessed acres it ranks 32,354th by assessed size among the 38,628 lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, behind 32,353 lakes with a larger one.

Which uses were judged

Maryland filed no use-level rows for this impoundment and reached no overall verdict, so nothing here was judged either way.

What this record holds

Maryland filed no overall verdict, no reporting cycle and no EPA category for this impoundment, so the record holds the identifying fields above and no judgement of any kind: no verdict, and no impairment cause to track over time. The state has not yet filed a definitive fish-consumption verdict, a definitive recreation verdict, a definitive aquatic-life verdict, and 1 other for this record; those fields populate when it reports them in a future Integrated Report cycle.

In context

Where Mitchell Pond sits nationally

Assessed size among U.S. lakes

Distribution of assessed acreage across ATTAINS lakes filed with an area, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once

8 Top 84% larger than 16% of 38,628 lakes

lakes the dataset carries an area for, counting a state’s repeated filings of one water once, bucketed by value

Source EPA ATTAINS · Reporting cycles 1987–2026

In both charts each bar is a band and taller bars hold more waterbodies; the dashed line and filled bar mark Mitchell Pond. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share.

In context

Maryland context

ATTAINS carries 63 lake-type waterbodies in Maryland, 32 assessed as not supporting at least one use and 18 fully supporting.

Other large assessed lakes in Maryland Assessed acres
Deep Creek Lake Not Supporting 3,887
Conowingo Reservoir Not Supporting 3,070
Liberty Reservoir Not Supporting 2,933
Loch Raven Reservoir Not Supporting 2,236
Prettyboy Reservoir Not Supporting 1,472
Jennings Randolph Reservoir Fully Supporting 941

Lakes near Mitchell Pond's assessed acres

Similar assessed acres

Nearest filed extents (8.11 acres here).

How peers are picked

What to do with this record

  • Assessment verdicts are cycle-based, not real-time. For fish-consumption decisions, your state advisory program is the binding source. Consumption status guide
  • Impairment listings follow the Clean Water Act 303(d) process; a listing is a regulatory finding, not a closure notice. 303(d) explained

PlainLakes renders state assessment decisions and federal gauge observations without modification. It does not issue advisories.

Assessment decisions on this page are rendered directly from state Integrated Report records in EPA's ATTAINS system; gauge figures are daily-value observations from the USGS National Water Information System, no number is typed in by an editor. Overall status, use verdicts, and causes are the state's reported decisions for assessment unit MD-021303010559-Mitchell_Pond. Counts and percentiles are computed across all lake-type records PlainLakes ingests from ATTAINS. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of 2026-08-17. Primary sources: EPA ATTAINS and USGS National Water Information System.